Press Box - Bowl News

- - - - - - - - - -

Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge to Air on ESPN-2 Dec. 29

Watch top coaches and celebrities hit the links to compete for $520,000 in scholarships.

ATLANTA – The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament will be nationally telecast on ESPN-2 Sunday, Dec. 29 in a one-hour special starting at 1 p.m. ET, just two days before the Chick-fil-A Bowl. 

The event features the nation’s top coaches from around the nation partnered with former athletes and current celebrities in two-man teams competing for a scholarship purse of $520,000. 

ESPN college football play-by-play announcer Dave Neal and analyst Andre Ware serve as commentators for the golf action that includes defending champions Paul Johnson and Jon Barry from Georgia Tech, two-time defending NCAA National Champion Nick Saban and Heisman Trophy winner Mark Ingram from Alabama, two-time tournament champions Steve Spurrier and Sterling Sharpe from the University of South Carolina and many others. 

“Many of the coaches will wear microphones to allow viewers to listen in to their conversations on the course,” said Gary Stokan, Chick-fil-A Bowl president and CEO. “It really gives an inside look into these coaches’ personalities and how competitive this tournament really is. It should be a very entertaining afternoon of golf.” 

The show will also feature exclusive interviews with the participating coaches and highlights from the long drive and putting competitions that took place prior to the golf tournament. 

The nation’s premier head coach and celebrity golf event was held at the beautiful Reynolds Plantation resort on Lake Oconee outside Atlanta. Over the past seven years, the Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge has provided more than $4.03 million in scholarship and charity to its participating universities. 

In all, 15 teams hit the links in the featured event, all vying for the $125,000 first-place scholarship prize. University teams competing include: 

Alabama   Nick Saban   Mark Ingram    
Auburn   Gus Malzahn   Bo Jackson    
Clemson   Dabo Swinney   Steve Fuller   2010 Winners  
Georgia Tech   Paul Johnson   Jon Barry   2011, 2012 Winners 
Miami   Al Golden   Gino Torretta   
Mississippi   Hugh Freeze  Sean Tuohy    
Mississippi State  Dan Mullen   Fred McCrary    
North Carolina   Larry Fedora   Roy Williams    
NC State Dave Doeren   Tom Gugliotta   
Ohio State  Urban Meyer  Jeff Logan    
South Carolina   Steve Spurrier   Sterling Sharpe   2008, 2009 Winners 
Syracuse   Scott Shafer  Jim Boeheim    
Virginia Tech  Frank Beamer   Dell Curry   2007 Winners  
Wake Forest  Jim Grobe   Riley Skinner    

In addition to the $520,000 scholarship purse, an additional $262,000 was donated to other charitable organizations. The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge is a significant contributor to the Chick-fil-A Bowl’s overall annual charitable and scholarship donations. The Chick-fil-A Bowl leads all bowls in the country in charitable giving, including gifts of more than $15.7 million since 2002. 

Past winners: 2012 Georgia Tech (Johnson/Barry /-10), 2011 Georgia Tech (Johnson/Barry / -11), 2010 Florida State (Fisher/Buckley / -7), 2009 South Carolina (Spurrier/Sharpe / -12, playoff winners), 2008 South Carolina (Spurrier/Sharpe / -12), 2007 Virginia Tech (Beamer/Dell Curry / -10). 

For more information on the event, visit


Copyright 2013 Peach Bowl, Inc. and ebroadcasters media services, inc., All Rights Reserved.   !     !     !